Board Room at Company Headquarters

The Board of Directors of the Company consists of 12 members, including three Independent Directors. Brief descriptions of each Board member are set out below.

Mr. J.B.L. de Silva (LL.B., Attorney-at-law)


A lawyer by profession, Mr. de Silva has substantial experience in the corporate world. He has held the office of Chairman of the Company since 1983 and has served on the Boards of quite a few prominent Public and Private Companies. He presently serves as a Director of CT Holding PLC & Associated Electrical Corporation Ltd.

Mr. H.J. de Silva (B.Sc.)

Deputy Chairman

Having completed his Bachelors’ Degree in the US and working at a MAS Holdings company for three years, he is the first of the 3rd generation of the founding family on the Board. Mr. de Silva is predominantly engaged in the trading of Coconut products and Spices for the Company, and is the Deputy Chairman of the Exporters Association of Sri Lanka.

Mr. C.S.L. de Silva (B.Econ., M.Com.)

Managing Director

After completing his Bachelors’ Degree in the fields of Econometrics and Marketing at the University of Sydney, Mr. de Silva completed a Masters Degree specialising in Finance at the same institution. Thereafter, he worked for three years in the Strategy and Analytics team of a Fortune 500 Company before joining Eastern Merchants. He is the second of the 3rd generation of the founding family to join the Company.

Mr. S. Jayakody (B.Com.Spl., FCA, FCMA)

Director – Finance

Mr. Jayakody joined the Company in 1993 as an Accountant after having completed his Bachelor of Commerce Degree at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura. Now a Fellow Member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lankan, he was appointed to the Board of Directors in 1999 and is also currently the Company Secretary.

Mr. S.A. Chandraratne

Director – Logistics

Joining the Company directly out of school, Mr. Chandraratne was in charge of the shipping activities of the Company for over 40 years. Thereafter he joined the Board in 1992 and is now responsible for all operations at our stores complex in Sapugaskanda.

Mr. I.P. de Zoysa

Director – Trading

Mr. de Zoysa has been closely associated with the trading activities of the Company for almost 20 years. During this time he has developed into a key member of the organisation possessing an in-depth knowledge of the commodities exported by the Company. He has also been pivotal in establishing several new markets overseas.

Mr. N.K.L. Tilakaratna (B.Sc., C.Eng., MBA., M.I. Mech.E., M.I.E.)

Non-executive Director

An engineer by profession, Mr. Tilakaratna heads Asia Brush (Pvt) Ltd. and Asia Woodware Company (Pvt) Ltd., both subsidiaries of Eastern Merchants.

Mrs. C.I. Tilakaratna ( B.A. (Hons.), M.A.)

Non-executive Director

The daughter of one of the founders of the Company, she has served on the Board as a Non-executive Director since 1989.

Mrs. R.L. Nanayakkara (B.A. (Hons.), FIB, FIM (SL))

Independent Non-executive Director

Mrs. Nanayakkara is a business icon in Sri Lanka and one of the leading women in the corporate world. Being a board member of companies too numerous to recount here, she possesses unparalleled corporate and management experience spanning over 50 years.

Mr. H.P.J. de Silva (B.Sc., MBA, FCA, FCMA, FIB)

Independent Non-executive Director

Formerly employed in the state sector as the Deputy General Manager/Corporate Advisor of the Bank of Ceylon, Mr. de Silva thereafter served as the Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Sampath Bank PLC and Union Bank PLC, as well as the Director of Operations at American Express.